Case Study kohlpharma

kohlpharma is one of the largest importers of patented and prescription drugs in Europe and the long-standing market leader in Germany. As a parallel trader, kohlpharma imports low-priced medicines from EU countries and sells them to pharmaceutical wholesalers and pharmacies in Germany. In the future, several thousands va-Q-med® transport systems will now ensure that kohlpharma’s customers receive their medicines at the accustomed top quality thanks to constant temperatures during transport in the particularly critical 2°C to 8°C range. va-Q-tec commands a lot of experience in handling large transport volumes, having supplied Swiss Post with the first high-performance thermoboxes for the transport of pharmaceutical products for pharmacies from as early as 2017.

 

The Made-in-Germany thermal transport systems are insulated with vacuum insulation panels (“VIPs”), which va-Q-tec produces as a technology leader in the thermal insulation area. Equipped with phase change materials (“PCMs”) va-Q-med® thermoboxes can ensure an inside temperature of 2°C to 8°C for 48 hours and more without battery and electricity. Thereby the last-mile-distribution is secured without temperature deviations directly to the recipient. Unlike conventional one-way packaging or cost-intensive transports with special refrigerated vehicles, va-Q-med® transport systems are reusable and consequently very environmentally compatible. By enabling transportation as a standard load on conventional courier vehicles without refrigeration, thermoboxes also make the transport of pharmaceutical products cheaper and less energy intensive.

Dr. Joachim Kuhn, CEO of va-Q-tec AG, comments: “With the va-Q-med® box we aim to make the future of pharmacy and last-mile logistics more cost-efficient, safer and more sustainable. Germany alone has almost 20,000 pharmacies that receive temperature-sensitive supplies several times a day – mostly delivered by refrigerated vehicles at the moment. With our solution – which is unique in the market – we are helping to make courier traffic more efficient in inner-city areas with heavy traffic. With kohlpharma, we have acquired as a landmark customer THE pharmaceutical importer in our home market of Germany.”

Case Study kohlpharma

kohlpharma ist einer der größten Arzneimittelimporteure für patentgeschützte und verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente in Europa sowie der langjährige Marktführer in Deutschland. Als Parallelhändler importiert kohlpharma preisgünstige Arzneimittel aus EU-Ländern und vertreibt diese an den pharmazeutischen Großhandel sowie an Apotheken in Deutschland. In Zukunft gewährleisten die va-Q-med®-Transportsysteme nun, dass die Kunden der kohlpharma die Arzneimittel dank konstanter Temperaturen beim Transport im besonders kritischen Bereich von 2°C bis 8°C in gewohnter Spitzenqualität erhalten. va-Q-tec lieferte bereits 2017 die ersten Hochleistungs-Thermoboxen für den Transport von pharmazeutischen Produkten für Apotheken an die Schweizerische Post und verfügt über entsprechend viel Erfahrung bei der Abwicklung großer Transportvolumina.

 

 

Die thermischen Verpackungssysteme sind mit Vakuumisolationspaneelen („VIPs“) gedämmt, die va-Q-tec als Technologieführer im Bereich der thermischen Isolation in Deutschland fertigt. Ausgestattet mit thermische Energiespeicherkomponenten (Phase Change Materials – „PCMs“) können va-Q-med®-Thermoboxen, ohne Batterie und Strom, im Inneren eine konstante Temperatur von 2°C bis 8°C für 48 Stunden und mehr sicherstellen. Damit ist eine sichere Last-Mile-Logistik ohne Temperaturabweichungen direkt bis zum Empfänger gewährleistet. Anders als herkömmliche Einwegverpackungen oder kostenintensive Transporte mit speziellen Kühlfahrzeugen sind die va-Q-med®-Transportsysteme wiederverwendbar und damit sehr umweltfreundlich. Indem die Thermoboxen als Standard-Ladung auf herkömmlichen Kurierfahrzeugen ohne Kühlung transportiert werden können, machen sie gleichzeitig den Transport von pharmazeutischen Produkten kostengünstiger und weniger energieintensiv.

Dr. Joachim Kuhn, Vorstandsvorsitzender (CEO) der va-Q-tec AG, sagt: „Mit der va-Q-med®-Thermobox wollen wir die Zukunft der Apotheken- beziehungsweise Last-Mile-Logistik effizienter, sicherer und umweltfreundlicher gestalten. Allein in Deutschland gibt es knapp 20.000 Apotheken, die mehrmals täglich temperaturempfindliche Lieferungen erhalten. Das geschieht aktuell meist durch Kühlfahrzeuge. Mit unserer im Markt einzigartigen Lösung helfen wir dabei, den Kurierverkehr in verkehrsgeplagten Innendstädten effizienter zu gestalten. Dass wir mit kohlpharma nun DEN Arzneimittelimporteur in unserem Heimatmarkt Deutschland als Kunden gewinnen konnten, freut uns natürlich sehr.“